Hello Crafty B aka Laura Bachschneider

This week let me introduce you to Crafty B other wise known as Laura Bachschneider!  Seriously have no idea how this lovely lady finds time to do the number of crafty items she does as she works full time and has some very active high schoolers!  Laura lives in Virginia, MN with her hubby and two daughters.

11206103_1090590924290418_6890966863245067217_n

Where do you get your craftiness from?
I’ve always been interested in how things are created. I watched my mom and grandma sew, knit and crochet. I never figured out how to do any of those things, but branched out in other areas.

How do you come up with what you make?
My family and I used to own Country Roads in the late 1990’s- early 2000’s and I really loved going to market and spotting the trends. I still like researching what is up and coming and try to adapt those concepts to what would work for people I know.

Can you give us an idea of what types of things you make?
I do all types of small scale vinyl and embroidery. I do lots of custom work. My most popular sellers are the character hooded bath towels, dish towels, whimsical socks, and custom ornaments. I customize lots of items such as a variety of cups, picture frames, and clothing.

How do you craft while working a full time job, and having very active children?
It is a definite juggling act and I have been known to drop a ball or two. My husband Paul is great at household tasks freeing up time for me. My daughters Holly and Annie also help out by assisting with craft shows and with many of the projects. We have “all hands on deck” during busy times or when there is a big order due.

How long have you been crafting?
I suppose since I was a teenager– in some form or another.

What are some of your favorite things to make?
Anything with the poop emoji makes me laugh 💩. I also love custom work that people order for friends and themselves. Its heartwarming to know a little piece of what you did will be cherished by someone.

What’s your favorite crafting machine? Embroidery Machine, Cricut, Heat press, etc?
I can’t play favorites– it could hurt their feelings and then they will misbehave. Yes– they are like kids to me. I treat them with love hoping they will not behave badly. Nothing worse than a machine down!

Anything else you’d like to include about you and your craftiness that you want folks to know?
I’m so very thankful to all my loyal customers and I love what I do. It’s so wonderful for our community to have a store like Smith’s Infusion where artists and crafters can showcase their talents.

Thank you to Laura for taking time out of her very chaotic schedule to answer some questions for us!  You can follow Laura’s Craftiness on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/craftybach/  and as always when new work is added to the shop you can check out Smith’s Infusion’s Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/smithsinfusion/

Leave a Reply

